ReadInk

QUICK SEARCH

Title
Author
Description (any word)
DETAILED SEARCH
 
Browse by Subject
*NEW ARRIVALS
*RECENT LISTINGS
Biography/Autobiography
California
Cinema: Biography
Cinema: History
Cinema: Periodicals
Crime and the Law
Fiction: Gay/Lesbian
Fiction: Historical
Fiction: Hollywood
Fiction: Modern Lit
Fiction: Mystery/Detective
Fiction: Vintage
Humor
Music and Dance
Sports
Television and Radio
The Odd and Unusual
Theatre and Plays

That's Not All -- More HERE!
 
 
 
 

Humor

Humor

Click on Title to view full description

 
More Peanuts, Schulz, Charles M.
21 Schulz, Charles M. More Peanuts
New York Rinehart & Co. , Inc. (c.1954) NO Unstated printing Hardcover Good 
(illustrated boards; no dust jacket, as issued) [moderate edgewear, covers scuffed/soiled, spine browned]. (comic strips) Early printing (not 1st because no Rinehart symbol on copyright page) of the second compilation of "Peanuts" daily strips. Hardcover printings of the early Peanuts books are fairly uncommon; later compilations were, I believe, issued only as paperbacks. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Snoopy, Come Home, Schulz, Charles M.
22 Schulz, Charles M. Snoopy, Come Home
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston [c.1962] First Edition Softcover Near Fine 
[nice copy with just a touch of wear at base of spine, light browning to page edges as typical with these books]. Trade PB (cartoons) The 13th "Peanuts" book (the second to highlight Snoopy), this volume predated by several years Snoopy's ascendance to cartoon superstardom, which began with the marvelous embodiment in the Peanuts animated TV specials (the first two of which appeared in December 1965 and June 1966). By the end of 1966, with the appearance of Schulz's 'novel' 'Snoopy and the Red Baron', the pooch had made the leap from ensemble player (Charlie Brown's eccentric dog) to major pop-culture (and marketing) icon. 
Price: 12.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Sunday's Fun Day, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book, Schulz, Charles M.
23 Schulz, Charles M. Sunday's Fun Day, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston (c.1965) First Edition Softcover Very Good+ 
[nice copy, minor soiling to rear cover, pages somewhat age-browned]. Trade PB (comic strips) The 17th "Peanuts" compilation, collecting Sunday strips (in black & white) from 1962, 1963, 1964 and 1965. 
Price: 10.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
We're Right Behind You, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book, Schulz, Charles M.
24 Schulz, Charles M. We're Right Behind You, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston 1964 First Edition Softcover Very Good+ 
[minor shelfwear, page edges lightly age-toned]. Trade PB (comic strips) The 15th "Peanuts" book, a selection of daily strips from originally published from 1958 through 1964. 
Price: 8.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
You Can't Win, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book, Schulz, Charles M.
25 Schulz, Charles M. You Can't Win, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston (c.1962) First Edition Softcover Very Good+ 
[a little wear along spine, light browning to page edges]. Trade PB (comic strips) The 12th "Peanuts" compilation, collecting daily strips from 1960, 1961 and 1962. 
Price: 8.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
You'll Flip, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book, Schulz, Charles M.
26 Schulz, Charles M. You'll Flip, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston 1967 First Edition Softcover Near Fine 
[lovely copy, tight and clean with no significant wear, crease along left edge of front cover (from book's front cover having been opened)]. Trade PB (comic strips) The 21st "Peanuts" compilation, collecting daily and Sunday strips (in black & white) from 1965, 1966 and 1967. 
Price: 10.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
You're You, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book, Schulz, Charles M.
27 Schulz, Charles M. You're You, Charlie Brown; a new Peanuts book
New York Holt, Rinehart and Winston 1968 First Edition Softcover Very Good 
[a little spotting on front cover, a few smudges on rear cover]. Trade PB (comic strips) The 24th "Peanuts" compilation, collecting daily and Sunday strips (in black & white) from 1967 and 1968. 
Price: 8.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 [Three] Smiths in the Wind: Low Man on a Totem Pole; Life in a Putty Knife Factory; Lost in the Horse Latitudes, Smith, H. Allen
28 Smith, H. Allen 3 [Three] Smiths in the Wind: Low Man on a Totem Pole; Life in a Putty Knife Factory; Lost in the Horse Latitudes
Garden City NY Doubleday & Company, Inc. 1946 NO First Edition Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dj Illustrated by Leo Hershfield 
(price-clipped) [minor wear to bottom edge, light browning/spotting to bottom of text block, otherwise a clean and solid book; jacket a little edgeworn, with a couple of short splits at spine corners and a small piece torn away from bottom of rear flap]. (cartoon drawings) Anthology volume, with a new introduction by the author, collecting his first three books -- no doubt issued either to enhance or take advantage of his novel "Rhubarb," which appeared the same year, and of which the rear jacket flap presents a panoply of glowing review blurbs. All three Smith books had been big best-sellers during the war, went through numerous printings, and are thus still readily findable -- but this particular collection, especially in decent condition as jacketed, is relatively scarce. The third book in this compendium, "Lost in the Horse Latititudes," contains the original cartoon drawings by Leo Hershfield; originally published in 1944, it was the first of over a dozen of Smith's books to be illustrated by Hershfield. 
Price: 65.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
The Pig in the Barber Shop [*SIGNED*], Smith, H. Allen
29 Smith, H. Allen The Pig in the Barber Shop [*SIGNED*]
Boston Little, Brown and Company (c.1958) NO First Edition Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good+ dj Illustrated by (dj design) Barbara Corrigan Signed by Author
[very little wear, but browning to pages at edges due to cheap paper stock used; jacket a little rubbed, slightly faded at spine, a couple of itsy-bitsy tears at edges of rear panel]. (endpaper map by Leo Hershfield) INSCRIBED (briefly, in Spanish) to a friend and SIGNED by the author on the second ffep. The noted Gringo humorist takes the reader on a tour south of the border: "If you have ever been to Mexico or if you've never been there, if you ever wanted to visit Mexico or if you never heard of the place, this book will excite and delight you. From Tzintzuntzan to 'dirty-talkin'' Alvarado, the author has roamed Central Mexico, collecting impressions, anecdotes, people, places and stories -- riotous stories -- in profusion." Signed by Author 
Price: 85.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
This Was Sex, Teller, Sandy
30 Teller, Sandy This Was Sex
Secaucus NJ Citadel Press (c.1978) 0-8065-06111-3 First Edition Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dj 
[clean and solid, unobtrusive remainder mark on bottom edge near spine; jacket worn at corners/edges, a few tiny chips and tears, slight fading to spine]. (B&W photos, drawings) "The humor of yesterday's expert advice on sex, marriage and morals." Yeah, well, they could be laughing at us on that count in a hundred years, too. 
Price: 12.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Take the Cannoli [Stories from the New World] [*SIGNED*], Vowell, Sarah
31 Vowell, Sarah Take the Cannoli [Stories from the New World] [*SIGNED*]
New York Simon & Schuster (c.2000) 0-684-86797-4 / 9780684867977 First Edition Hardcover Near Fine in Near Fine dj Illustrated by (dj design) Kathy Digrado Signed by Author
[slightly bumped at base of spine, faint soiling to top page edges; jacket shows very light surface wear, slight wrinkling along top edge and right edge of front panel]. SIGNED by the author on a label affixed to the ffep. Her second book, "a collection of alternately hilarious and heartbreaking essays and autobiographical yarns," supposedly "placing Vowell solidly in the tradition of Mark Twain and Dorothy Parker." (This sort of thing gets said when English majors become blurb-writers, I suppose.) Signed by Author 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
The Bang Bang Family, Wilson, Gahan
32 Wilson, Gahan The Bang Bang Family
New York Charles Scribner's Sons (c.1974) First Edition Hardcover Near Fine in Very Good dj Illustrated by the author 
[minor bumping and slight wear to bottom corners of book; jacket moderately soiled, with a bit of damage (small scraped area and puncture tear) to spine (obliterating most of THE in title), short closed tear at to of rear panel, faint shadow of removed price sticker on front panel]. Described in the jacket blurb as the author's "first picturebook for children," this freakishly-illustrated tale features the chronically noise-making titular family -- with parents who appear to have serious rage-management issues. (The term "nuclear family" might take on a little extra meaning when applied to this crew!) 
Price: 40.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
< PREV  1   2  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to howard.prouty@att.net
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie