ReadInk

QUICK SEARCH

Title
Author
Description (any word)
DETAILED SEARCH
 
Browse by Subject
*NEW ARRIVALS
*RECENT LISTINGS
Biography/Autobiography
California
Cinema: Biography
Cinema: History
Cinema: Periodicals
Crime and the Law
Fiction: Gay/Lesbian
Fiction: Historical
Fiction: Hollywood
Fiction: Modern Lit
Fiction: Mystery/Detective
Fiction: Vintage
Humor
Music and Dance
Sports
Television and Radio
The Odd and Unusual
Theatre and Plays

That's Not All -- More HERE!
 
 
 
 

Browne, Lewis Listings

If you cannot find what you want on this page, then please use our search feature to search all our listings.

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 Browne, Lewis See What I Mean?
New York Random House (c.1943) 2nd printing Hardcover Good 
(no dust jacket) [light shelfwear, occasional minor pencil annotation throughout text, two previous owners' names on ffep (one a name/address stamp, the other a signature)] "A novel," it sez here, and with an additional curiously-worded disclaimer on the copyright page: "This is in a literal sense a work of fiction, and no character in it is intended to be identified with any real person now either under arrest, at large, or dead." Styled as a kind of confessional, it's narrated by a newspaper man who drifts to Los Angeles during the Depression, does some publicity work for the studios, and ends up getting involved with an anti-Semitic organization called "the Crusade," whose leader, "John Christian Power," in very much in the vein of Father Coughlin, Gerald L.K. Smith, William Dudley Pelley, and similar home-grown American fascists (and would-be dictators). The author was a prominent Jewish author, radio commentator and lecturer; he was also an ex-rabbi. 
Price: 6.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to howard.prouty@att.net
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie