The Clock Strikes Twelve

By: Wakefield, H. Russell

Price: $65.00

Quantity: 1 available

Condition: Very Good+ in Good dj

Views: 79

[light shelfwear to book, previous owner's initials plus date & place of purchase written on recto of the second free rear endpaper, small ink check-marks next to all titles in table of contents; the jacket is edgeworn and moderately soiled, with bits of paper loss to the upper extremities, and has been internally tape-repaired/reinforced along the top and bottom edges]. "A new collection of macabre tales by H. Russell Wakefield -- the first in fifteen years -- is an event to delight the connoisseur. Eighteen new stories, together with an introduction, 'Why I Write Ghost Stories,' represent the first new uncanny tales to be published in the United States since the notably successful 'They Return at Evening' and 'Others Who Returned.' Writing in the tradition of M.R. James, and beyond James, that excellent one of J. Sheridan LeFanu, [the author] has no contemporary peer in the realm of the spectral tale." Contents: "Into Outer Darkness"; "The Alley"; "Jay Walkers"; "Ingredient X"; "'I Recognised the Voice'"; "Farewell Performance"; "Not Quite Cricket"; "In Collaboration"; "A Stitch in Time"; "Lucky's Grove"; "Red Feathers"; "Happy Ending?"; "The First Sheaf"; "Masrur"; "A Fishing Story"; "Used Car"; "Death of a Poacher"; "Knock! Knock! Who's There?"

Title: The Clock Strikes Twelve

Author: Wakefield, H. Russell

Edition: First Edition

Illustrator: Illustrated by (dj) Ronald Clyne

Location Published: Sauk City WI, Arkham House: 1946

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Very Good+ in Good dj

Categories: *NEW ARRIVALS

Seller ID: 28167

Keywords: short stories ghost stories supernatural